Latest on the Rangers and Kings, strong ratings for Game 1 of the Stanley Cup Final, plus updates on the Panthers, Sharks, Coyotes and more. 

NEW YORK POST: More Rangers than just Henrik Lundqvist must bring their “A” game over the remainder of the Stanley Cup Final. Rick Nash, Mats Zuccarello, Derek Stepan, Brad Richards and Derick Brassard are among those who didn’t play well in Game 1 against the Kings.

Marian Gaborik has fit in well with the Kings.

Marian Gaborik has fit in well with the Kings.

LOS ANGELES TIMES: Trade deadline acquisition Marian Gaborik has made himself welcome with the Kings. He’s currently the leading goal scorer in this year’s playoffs.

SPECTOR’S NOTE: The solid chemistry Gaborik has with linemate Anze Kopitar makes him worthwhile re-signing at a reasonable price and term. Perhaps a three-year deal worth $5 million annually. 

USA TODAY: TV ratings for Game 1 of the 2014 Stanley Cup Final were not only the second-highest for NBC but also the second-highest for a Cup Final since 1999.

SPECTOR’S NOTE: If the remainder of the series is as good as Game 1, this Cup Final could go on to set even higher ratings. 

SUN-SENTINEL.COM: The Florida Panthers have interviewed former Toronto Maple Leafs coach Ron Wilson for their vacant head coaching job. The Panthers could also wait until late-June to interview Texas Stars coach Willie Desjardins or LA Kings assistant coach John Stevens.

TAMPA BAY TIMES: Lightning goaltender Ben Bishop’s rehab for his surgically-repaired right wrist is going well. He anticipates being ready for training camp in September.

CSN BAY AREA: The San Jose Sharks are engaged in contract talks with backup goalie Alex Stalock, who’s eligible for UFA status next month.

SPECTOR’S NOTE: I anticipate the Sharks will re-sign Stalock before July 1. 

ARIZONA REPUBLIC: An estimated 250 fans met with Phoenix Coyotes’ brass at a town hall meeting to discuss a wide range of topics.

CHICAGO SUN-TIMES: Longtime Chicago Blackhawks broadcaster Pat Foley has earned the Foster Hewitt Memorial Award for excellence in broadcasting from the Hockey Hall of Fame.