NHL Morning Coffee Headlines – November 14, 2017

NHL Morning Coffee Headlines – November 14, 2017

Game recaps, Hockey Hall of Fame inductions, injury updates & more in your NHL morning coffee headlines.

NHL.COM: Teuvo Teravainen tallied his first career NHL hat trick and Jordan Staal collected four assists to lead the Carolina Hurricanes to a 5-1 victory over the Dallas Stars. Sebastian Aho scored his first goal of the season and added two assists.

Mark Jankowski scored twice and set up another as the Calgary Flames beat the St. Louis Blues 7-4. It was a costly win for the Flames, as starting goaltender Mike Smith left the game in the first period with an undisclosed injury. More details could be revealed today.

Former players Teemu Selanne, Paul Kariya, Dave Andreychuk, Mark Recchi and Danielle Goyette, former Canadian college coach Clare Drake and Boston Bruins owner Jeremy Jacobs were officially inducted into the Hockey Hall of Fame. Retired sportswriter Cam Cole received the Elmer Ferguson Memorial Award.

THE TENNESSEAN: Having signed an eight-year, $64-million contract last summer, Nashville Predators center Ryan Johansen is struggling to score this season. To date, he has only eight assists.

SPECTOR’S NOTE: Perhaps Johansen still feels the lingering effects from the left-leg injury that knocked him out of last spring’s playoffs. I expect he’ll soon regain his offensive form. 

NEWSDAY: New York Islanders forward Nikolay Kulemin underwent possible season-ending shoulder surgery on Monday. He’s expected to be sidelined for six months.

BOSTON HERALD: Sidelined Bruins Brad Marchand and Anders Bjork won’t be joining their club on their West Coast road trip.

LAS VEGAS REVIEW-JOURNAL: Vegas Golden Knight defenseman Luca Sbisa (lower-body injury) will miss his club’s next two games.

OTTAWA SUN: The Senators activated winger Bobby Ryan and defenseman Mark Borowiecki from injured reserve.

MLIVE.COM: Detroit Red Wings forward Justin Abdelkader (fractured cheekbone) will return to the lineup on Wednesday wearing a “football helmet-style facemask”.

ESPN.COM: In a press conference yesterday, NHL commissioner Gary Bettman field questions about Olympic participation, the World Cup of Hockey, expansion and a potential work stoppage when the current collective bargaining agreement expires.

Bettman notes the IOC president said if the NHL doesn’t participate in the Pyeonchang Games, they cannot go to Beijing. The league would like to stage a World Cup of Hockey every four years.

Bettman isn’t ruling out further expansion “under the right circumstances” but said they’re not considering any potential candidates. “I don’t like work stoppages, but you do what you’ve got to do,” he said.

SPECTOR’S NOTE: Looks like we can forget about seeing the NHL participate in the Beijing Olympics in 2022. So get used to more World Cup of Hockey tournaments. Expansion is coming to take the league to 32 teams. It’s just a question of where and when. My guess is Seattle in five years time if they ever get their arena issue sorted out.

As for Bettman’s comment that he doesn’t like work stoppages, all three on his watch occurred because he and the owners locked out the players as a hardball tactic to bring the NHLPA to heel. It failed in 1995, succeeded in 2005 and resulted in a draw in 2013. The biggest losers, of course, were the fans, who had to endure three pissing contests that did nothing to improve labor relations between the two sides. 

ARIZONA SPORTS: AltaCorp Capital Inc. founder and CEO George Gosbee, who was instrumental in efforts to keep the Coyotes in Arizona back in 2013, passed away at age 48.



Predicting the 2018 Hockey Hall of Fame Inductees

Predicting the 2018 Hockey Hall of Fame Inductees

On Monday, Nov. 13, former NHL stars Teemu Selanne, Paul Kariya, Mark Recchi and Dave Andreychuk will be among the class of 2017 inducted into the Hockey Hall of Fame. So it’s appropriate to look ahead toward next year’s potential inductees.

It goes without saying Martin Brodeur will be a first-ballot inductee. He backstopped the New Jersey Devils to three Stanley Cup championships, won four Vezina Trophies in five years between 2002-03 and 2007-08, shares the single-season wins record (48) with Washington’s Braden Holtby and the all-time records for games-played (1,266), wins (691) and shutouts (125).

Winger Martin St. Louis could also be inducted in his first year of eligibility. He’s a two-time winner of the Art Ross Trophy (2004, 2013) and Lady Byng Trophy (2010, 2011). He also won the Hart Memorial Trophy and the Pearson in 2004 and played a significant role in the Tampa Bay Lightning’s 2004 Stanley Cup run. He finished his career with 1,033 points and is the Lightning’s all-time leader in assists (588) and points (953). 

2018 will be forward Daniel Alfredsson‘s second year of eligibility. Winner of the Calder Memorial Trophy in 1996, Alfredsson is the Ottawa Senators’ all-time leader in goals (426), assists (682) and points (1,108). It’ll be surprising if he’s passed over again.

Several notable players eligible for induction in recent years could be among those who get the nod in 2018.

Center Pierre Turgeon amassed 515 goals and 1,327 points in a career that stretched from 1987-88 to 2006-07 with the Buffalo Sabres, New York Islanders, Montreal Canadiens, St. Louis Blues, Dallas Stars and Colorado Avalanche. Winner of the 1993 Lady Byng Trophy, only two active players (Jaromir Jagr and Joe Thornton) have more points than Turgeon.

Right wing Alexander Mogilny is one of the greatest Russian players in NHL history. He and Teemu Selanne are the last players to exceed 70 goals in a season (1992-93). He also won the Lady Byng Trophy in 2003. Mogilny sits third among Russian-born NHLers in goals (473) and points (1,039) playing for the Buffalo Sabres, Vancouver Canucks, New Jersey Devils (winning a Stanley Cup with them in 2000) and Toronto Maple Leafs.

Goaltender Curtis Joseph sits fifth on the NHL all-time list for wins (454) and sixth for games played (943) backstopping the St. Louis Blues, Edmonton Oilers, Toronto Maple Leafs, Detroit Red Wings, Phoenix Coyotes and Calgary Flames. “CuJo” was also a three-time finalist for the Vezina Trophy.

Right wing Theoren Fleury tallied 455 goals and 1,088 points in 1,084 career NHL games, of which 791 were spent with the Calgary Flames. He won a Stanley Cup with them during his rookie season in 1988-89. He’s second among the Flames all-time leaders in goals (364) and points (830).

Forwards Jeremy Roenick and Keith Tkachuk are two of the highest-scoring American-born players in NHL history. Roenick is fourth among US players in goals (513) and points (1,216) while Tkachuk sits third in goals (538) and fifth in points (1,065).